Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 16, 2025

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chairman House Appropriations Committee Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies 2007 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Chellie Pingree Ranking Member House Appropriations Committee Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies 1036 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Simpson and Ranking Member Pingree:

Thank you for your long-standing support for preserving America's special places. We write to request that you continue this support by appropriating \$225 million for the Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) for Fiscal Year (FY) 2026. Of the total, we request that \$70 million support State Historic Preservation Offices (SHPOs), \$34 million support Tribal Historic Preservation Offices (THPOs), and \$121 million for seven existing competitive grant programs. This includes support for programs like the Paul Bruhn Historic Revitalization grant program, which fosters economic development in rural communities through the revitalization of historic properties and the Semiquincentennial grant program, which celebrates the 250th Anniversary of the United States of America by restoring and preserving historic sites and structures that commemorate the founding of the nation.

SHPOs lead efforts to promote our nation's historic and cultural heritage. SHPOs carry out the National Historic Preservation Act, which provides citizens the tools they need to revitalize, rehabilitate, and protect the resources our communities value most. In FY 2024 SHPOs reviewed and consulted on 108,200 federal undertakings, provided 91,600 National Register eligibility opinions, and surveyed over 4.5 million acres for cultural resources. SHPOs also assist in administering the federal Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit program that has created more than **3.2 million new jobs and leveraged over \$235 billion in private investment** since the program's inception.

Just as the SHPOs review federal undertakings on state lands, THPOs review federal undertakings on tribal government lands. There were only 12 THPOs when they first received funding in 1996. Today, there are 228 THPOs for which Congress and the United States have a responsibility to sustain the government-to-government relationship with the Tribes. While

funding for THPOs as a category has grown in recent years, we must ensure those increases are felt at the level of individual Tribal Historic Preservation Offices.

Competitive grant programs under the HPF preserve, document, and exhibit our shared history. These programs address a wide variety of preservation needs across the country and fund various types of work. In 2022, the Idaho Heritage Trust was awarded a \$750,000 Paul Bruhn Historic Revitalization grant to implement a subgrant program to facilitate the preservation and restoration of historic theaters in Idaho's rural communities. Nine theaters across Idaho received between \$49,000-\$100,000 to repair and preserve their historic venues. In 2022, the Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry received a Semiquincentennial grant for the rehabilitation of the Colburn House in Pittston, ME, where Major Colburn worked with local Indigenous leaders and colonists to map a water trail route as well as quickly construct small boats for Benedict Arnold's campaign to seize Quebec in 1775 during the American Revolution.

A meaningful investment in the HPF will protect and promote the places that tell the story of America - especially as we prepare to commemorate America's 250th anniversary in 2026. Since 1976, the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) has been a successful federal-state partnership, leading investment in historic sites and buildings in communities throughout the country. The NHPA authorizes \$150 million annually to be deposited for the benefit of the HPF, however, in September 2024, the authorization for this deposit of funds lapsed. It is imperative to restore this authorization to address the ongoing funding needs and to provide stability to these preservation programs. Support for the Historic Preservation Fund is an investment in economic development, job creation, and our nation's heritage for the benefit of our future. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Michael R. June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Orm d. Danie

Danny K. Navis Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

tonlo ang

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

phana Hayco

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Kinbert ting thinks

Kimberlyn King-Hinds Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Nula

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Angie Craig Member of Congress

James P. Me

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Mall

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Vord

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Willin R. Keating

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Jim Himes

Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

udur Chu Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Monsy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

DAOUIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Summer L. Lee

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Lucy MCBath

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Brender Ba

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Yamie Raskin Member of Congress

R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Maria

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Lanen ut

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

Mike Carey Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

rettory

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

ll Hadlen

ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

be Neguse Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

1-

Rob Bresnahan, Jr. Member of Congress

Ritchie Iome

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

alm

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Paus Dellate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Mon

Kelly Modison Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

the Shorpon

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

re

Greg Casar Member of Congress

Hacuy C

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Sail I Bully Carta

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

esces of

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

In I!

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress